An error has occurred

Zones on Tenerife | Tenerife App - Explore Tenerife

Zones on Tenerife

Due to the shape of the island, Tenerife is split into three distinct areas - the Northern zone, Southern zone and Metropolitan zone . . . but where are the divides?

Tenerife is divided into three areas – the Northern area, the Southern area and the Metropolitan area – which include a total of 31 municipalities. Two of the three most populated cities in the Canary Islands are in Tenerife: Santa Cruz de Tenerife, the capital of the island; and San Cristóbal de La Laguna. From the largest city to the smallest hamlet, each town has its own local council, traditions and typical landscape.

On the Explore Tenerife site, we follow the North / South divide, with the exception of Teide which has its own category – despite actually being part of the biggest municipality, La Orotava.